NeMTSS Regional Support Teams

Region 1Region 2Region 3Region 4Region 5

Each of the state’s five regions is served by its own NeMTSS Regional Support Team to ensure personalized support. Regional Support Teams include a Regional Support Lead, Early Childhood Implementation Facilitator, Social, Emotional and Behavioral Learning Specialist and Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports Coach. Team members work together to support their region’s schools/programs in their MTSS implementation efforts.

  • Regional Support Leads are the initial point of contact for schools and programs beginning their work with MTSS. They provide specialized support, along with other NeMTSS team members, based on each school or program’s unique needs and goals.
  • Early Childhood Implementation Facilitators work with early childhood programs and the Pyramid Model.
  • SEBL Specialists help schools support the behavioral, mental and social-emotional health of staff and students.
  • PBIS Coaches help schools by using Positive Behavior Intervention Strategies.

NeMTSS Region 1

ESUs 4, 5, 6 and LPS

Regional Support Lead & NPBIS Co-Coordinator

Scott Eckman
scott.eckman@esu6.org

Early Childhood Implementation Facilitator

Amy Colwell
amy.colwell@esu6.org

SEBL Specialist

Mackenzie Riedel
mriedel2@unl.edu

PBIS Coach

Susan Wiggins
swiggsk@yahoo.com

NeMTSS Region 2

ESUs 2, 3 and OPS

Regional Support Lead

Kala Peyton
kpeyton@esu3.org

Early Childhood Implementation Facilitator

SEBL Specialist

Mackenzie Riedel
mriedel2@unl.edu

PBIS Coach

Nancy Woodhams
nwoodhams@cox.net

NeMTSS Region 3

ESUs 1, 7 and 8

Regional Support Lead

Brooke Gebers
bgebers@esu1.org

Early Childhood Implementation Facilitator

Toni Peters
tpeters@esu1.org

SEBL Specialist

Jill Guenther
jguenther10@unl.edu

PBIS Coach

Mary Osterloh
mmosterloh@gmail.com

NeMTSS Region 4

ESUs 9, 10, 11 and 17

Regional Support Lead

Kris Kampovitz
kkampovitz@esu10.org

Early Childhood Implementation Facilitator

SEBL Specialist

Jill Guenther
jguenther10@unl.edu

PBIS Coach

Katie Barmettler
ktbarmettler@gmail.com

NeMTSS Region 5

ESUs 13, 15 and 16

Regional Support Lead

Tessa Fraass
tfraass@esu13.org

Early Childhood Implementation Facilitator

SEBL Specialist

Emily Arkfeld
emily.arkfeld@unl.edu

PBIS Coach

Linda Clavel
randyandlinda2012@gmail.com

NeMTSS Leadership

Amy Rhone

Office of Special Education Administrator/State Director, Nebraska Department of Education
amy.rhone@nebraska.gov

Amanda Witte

Research Assistant Professor, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
NeMTSS Project Director
awitte2@unl.edu

Casey Hurner

State Coordinator, Nebraska Department of Education
churner@esu1.org

NeMTSS Program Staff

Maureen Halpenny

Project Coordinator, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
maureen.halpenny@unl.edu

Ginny Howard

Early Childhood MTSS Coordinator, Nebraska Department of Education
ginny.howard@nebraska.gov

Braxton Lindhorst

Project Associate, University of Nebraska–Lincoln
braxton.lindhorst@unl.edu

Mary Jo McElhose

NeMTSS System Consultant, Nebraska Department of Education
mjmcelhose@gmail.com

George Toman

NeMTSS System Consultant
gtoman1610@gmail.com

Heather Robbins

NeMTSS System Consultant
hldrobbins@gmail.com

Kelly Wojcik

State Systemic Improvement Plan Coordinator, Nebraska Department of Education
Kelly.Wojcik@nebraska.gov